All Tuition & Fee Information
All students at the time of registration for credit courses must make a non-refundable payment of the college services and student activity fees, plus lab fees, applicable to the courses for which a student is registered.
Tuition charges are based on the number of credits and the student’s residency status at the time of registration. Students who register for more than 17 credits in any semester will be charged an additional flat amount of $100 tuition. The total tuition owed is payable by the payment date deadline specified by the College each semester. All registrations between the announced deadline and the first day of classes shall be accompanied by full payment of all applicable tuition and fees unless an installment payment plan option, financial aid or other deferred payment arrangement option has been approved by the College.
Student accounts that have not been paid by the tuition due date are subject to a $15 late payment fee.
On-line Course Tuition And College Service Fees
Students registering for On-Line (distance learning) courses will be charged tuition and fees based on their residency status.
Special Fees (Non-Refundable)
|Student Activity Fees:
|Educational Extension Fees:
|Academic Evaluation Fee
|Portfolio Assessment Fee
|Auxillary Activity Fees:
|Program Enrollment Fee (2)
|Installment Plan Late Fee
|One Time Replacement of Diploma
|Credit by Examination Fee
|Returned Check Fee
|Replacement of Lost ID Card
|Late Payment Fee
|Installment Plan Fee
|CLEP Service Fee (3)
*The application fee will be waived for those students who previously applied to any Connecticut Community College.
Fees are subject to change; College Presidents, with the approval of the Chancellor, are authorized to waive General and Special Fees of students enrolled in special programs when the circumstances justify such action.
New England Regional Student Program (RSP/NEBHE)
Each New England state admits out-of-state New England residents for study at its public, degree-granting colleges, universities and institutions. At Three Rivers Community College, these students pay the same tuition and fees as a Connecticut student, plus a 50% surcharge. See the “Admissions ” section for program eligibility requirements.
Tuition and Fee Waivers
Tuition, general fees, and the application fee are completely waived for people 62 years of age and over who wish to register for state-supported (General Fund) courses on a space available basis. Special fees must still be paid. Those requesting the waiver must present verification of date of birth. Senior citizens register at the conclusion of each registration period on a space available basis.
Connecticut Tuition Waiver
This waiver is available for eligible Connecticut veterans. Public Act 03-85 amended the definition of “service in a time of war.” For purposes of identifying eligible veterans, Connecticut has adopted the Federal definition (U.S. Code 38 USC 101, as amended).
War periods include:
- Spanish-American War
- Mexican border period
- World Wars I and II
- Korean conflict
- Vietnam era
- Persian Gulf War (August 2, 1990 until a date prescribed by the President or law)
Periods beginning on the date of any future congressional declaration of war and ending on the date prescribed by the presidential proclamation or concurrent resolution of Congress.
Note: Because the Persian Gulf War is still in progress, veterans currently serving or who have served at least 90 days any time between August 2, 1990 and the date the Persian Gulf War ends are eligible for war service benefits. Connecticut continues to recognize certain smaller conflicts that are not included in the Federal definition:
- Lebanon conflict (7/1/58 to 11/1/58 Combat or combat support role only)
- Peacekeeping mission in Lebanon (9/29/82 to 3/30/84)
- Invasion of Grenada (10/25/83 to 12/15/83)
- Operation Earnest Will (escort of Kuwaiti oil tankers 2/1/87 to 7/23/87)
- Invasion of Panama (12/20/89 to 1/31/90)
To use the Waiver, students must present proof of service plus proof of residency. The latter may include rent receipts, tax bills, voter registration cards, or other documentation showing residence in Connecticut.
The 100% tuition waiver is applicable only to General Fund courses and is available for veterans if they are residents of Connecticut. In addition, any child of a Vietnam-era veteran who has been declared a MIA/POW is eligible, provided that the parent entered the service after January 1, 1960 and was a Connecticut resident upon entry or while serving in the Armed Forces. Veterans from other states who established residency through marriage to a Connecticut resident during the above times may also be eligible
Connecticut National Guard
The tuition of any eligible member of the Connecticut Army or Air National Guard shall be waived if they wish to register for state-supported (General Fund) courses. To be eligible for such a waiver, a member of the Connecticut Army or Air National Guard must: (1) be a resident of Connecticut; (2) present certification by the Adjutant General or his designee as a member in good standing of the Guard; and (3) be enrolled or accepted for admission to a community college on a full-time or part-time basis in a degree granting program. The tuition waiver shall be reduced by the amount of any educational reimbursement received from an employer.
Installment Payment Plan Policy
An installment plan option will be available to students in good standing enrolled in General Fund courses for six or more credits during the fall or spring semesters. The first payment includes all general fees, the $25 installment plan fee and the first third of the tuition.
A student wishing to utilize the installment payment plan must make arrangements with the College’s Cashier Office during specified times prior to each semester. The Cashier’s Office will complete the Installment Payment Plan Agreement, which will be signed by the student or legal guardian.
Payments must be made by the due dates indicated on the agreement to avoid the late payment fee ($15).
Tuition & Fee Schedule
Tuition and fees for Connecticut Community Colleges are established by the Connecticut State Colleges & Universities Board of Regents for Higher Education. These charges are subject to change by the Board without prior notice. Students are urged to consult the College’s web site for complete and current tuition and fee information.
Click here to view the current breakdown of tuition & fee expenses.
Refund of Tuition and Fees
Student will receive a full refund of tuition and fees if the College cancels a course.
Refund of Tuition Only
Please refer to the Academic Calendar or the website for refund deadlines. Requests for refunds of tuition must be directed to the Registrar’s Office by mail, e-mail (email@example.com) or fax (860-215-9919). Students should retain a confirmation receipt for their records.
Withdrawal and reduced course load requests may also be made in person at the Registrar’s office during normal business hours.
Note: College Service and Student Activity fees are not refundable unless the college cancels the course.
Fall and Spring Full Semester Courses
Students who wish to drop all registered courses and receive a refund shall direct their request to the Registrar’s Office. If the written notice is received prior to the first day of classes for the semester, 100% of the tuition for all dropped courses will be refunded. If written notice is received on or after the first day of classes for the semester through the first 14-calendar days of the semester, a 50% refund of tuition will be made.
Fall and Spring Module Courses
Students wishing to drop from modular courses with beginning and ending dates which do not correspond to the full semester schedule are required to direct their request to the Registrar’s Office. This must be done prior to the first scheduled class meeting in order to receive a 100% refund of tuition. A 50% refund of tuition will be granted if written notice is received according to the following schedule:
1 week module - within the first day of the module
5 week module - within the first 5 calendar days of the module
6 week module - within the first 6 calendar days of the module
7 week module - within the first 7 calendar days of the module
8 week module - within the first 8 calendar days of the module
Reduction in Course Load
For a reduction in course load which occurs on the first day of classes and through the fourteenth calendar day of that semester, 50% of the difference of the tuition applicable to the original and revised schedule will be refunded.
Reduction in Course Load for Financial Aid Students
Financial Aid students who reduce their course load will incur the same costs as non-financial aid students, but these costs and credits are not included in determining their financial aid amount. Awards are based on the number of credits the student is registered for at the conclusion of the add/drop period. Please contact the Financial Aid office if you have any questions.
Summer and Winter Session Courses Supported by the Educational Extension Fund
Students who wish to drop all registered summer or winter session courses shall direct their written requests for course drops and refunds to the Registrar’s Office. One hundred percent of tuition will be refunded if notice is received prior to 4:00 p.m. on the day preceding the first scheduled class meeting (requests must be received by 4:00 p.m. Friday for courses that meet first on Monday). No refund of tuition will be granted if the notice is received on or after the first day of class.
A 100% refund of tuition and fees is granted to students who enter the armed services before earning degree credit for that semester. In this case, notice and a certified copy of enlistment papers must be submitted to the Registrar’s Office. No other refund of tuition will be granted for either full-time or part-time students beyond the 14th calendar day after the first day of classes. Exceptions to the tuition refund policy due to extenuating or extraordinary circumstances will be considered upon written request submitted to the Dean of Administration via mail or email (firstname.lastname@example.org). Please provide your full name and student I.D. in the subject line along with a detailed request, contact information and backup documentation which can be attached to the email or faxed (860-215-9901).
Repayment Policy for all Federal Aid Recipients
Effective October 2000, regulations governing the administration of Federal Title IV Financial Aid Funds (i.e. Perkins Loan, Pell Grant, Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant and Family Educational Loan Program) have changed significantly. All students receiving this federal student aid who withdraw or stop attending all classes prior to the 60% point of the semester will be required to return and repay a portion of this funding.
In case of early withdrawal, the college is required to recalculate that student’s financial aid eligibility and determine what percentage of federal aid has been earned based on the date of the student’s withdrawal. (This percentage is directly proportional to the number of calendar days attended by the student divided by the number of calendar days in the semester.) Any “unearned” federal aid must be returned as follows:
- Any “unearned” federal aid collected by the college for student tuition and fees: These funds must be returned in total to the Federal Government. The student will then become liable to the college for this amount and will be billed accordingly.
- Any “unearned” federal aid paid directly to the student or on the student’s behalf (bookstore charges, daycare, transportation, etc.): 50% of this debt will be forgiven, but the remaining 50% must be repaid to the Federal Government by the student within 45 days.
Since these Federal Title IV Regulations must be strictly enforced, all participating students are urged to take the following action to prevent potential problems in this area:
- Work closely with the Financial Aid Office to understand their rights and responsibilities under the new regulations.
- Work closely with their academic advisor in selecting courses and determining reasonable academic loads for each semester.
- Consider the demands of work and family when deciding how many courses to take.
- Attend classes and maintain satisfactory academic progress as required. Failure to attend classes and to comply with these financial aid regulations will permanently jeopardize future eligibility for federal assistance.
To be entitled to the in-state tuition rates established for Connecticutresidents, a student must be a Connecticut resident for a minimum of 12 months, with the exception of active duty military personnel and their families and those who meet the New England Board of Higher Education (RSP/NEBHE) guidelines. International students issued an I-20 and those on temporary work visas are not entitled to the in-state tuition rates for Connecticut residents.