2017-2018 College Catalog 
    Jul 21, 2024  
2017-2018 College Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

About Three Rivers

History of Three Rivers

On May 5, 1992, the Connecticut General Assembly enacted Public Act 92-126 merging the community and technical colleges in five geographic areas of Connecticut. As a result, Thames Valley State Technical College and Mohegan Community College were officially combined to form a comprehensive, publicly supported college serving the diverse educational needs of the residents of the southeastern and eastern regions of the state. In November 1992, our newly consolidated college was renamed Three Rivers Community-Technical College in recognition of the region’s three primary rivers: the Shetucket, the Yantic, and the Thames. The commuter college, now called Three Rivers Community College, had consisted of two campuses in Norwich, the Thames Valley campus and the Mohegan campus which have been consolidated as of December 2008 at the 574 New London Turnpike (Thames campus) address. The college has two off-campus instructional centers located at the Naval Submarine Base, and the Ella T. Grasso Southeastern Regional Vocational Technical School in Groton.

Through the integration of technical, career, and liberal arts programs within the College, Three Rivers’ students are now able to move with greater ease from one program to another. More than 4,000 full- and part-time students in credit programs and 2,300 students in non-credit continuing education programs enroll each year at Three Rivers.